Litigation

To thrive in today’s competitive business environment, organizations must be prepared for the prospect of litigation, whether to protect important commercial interests, enforce contractual rights, dissolve an existing business relationship or defend against claims of professional negligence, or any of the many other challenges they may confront. Cohen & Grigsby’s Litigation Group is a unique and powerful resource that represents organizations in such vital matters, providing service that is focused, efficient and results oriented.

Our litigators offer diverse and tested experience in key venues in state, federal and appellate courts throughout the country. In addition, our lawyers have extensive experience litigating claims before arbitration panels and other alternate dispute resolution forums. Thus, no matter the venue, Cohen & Grigsby litigators are familiar with the requirements and processes specific to that venue.

The foundation of our service to clients is the Cohen & Grigsby Culture of Performance, which inspires each member of our organization to develop ways to meet client needs. We know, for example, that preparation for a case or other legal action may cause costly interruptions to client businesses. Therefore, one of our highest priorities is establishing client-attorney teams that can work thoroughly and swiftly, allowing clients to maintain the flow of business with minimal disruptions.

Among the pillars of our Culture of Performance are:

  • Comprehensive excellence
  • Rapid, targeted communication
  • Results

Comprehensive Excellence

Cohen & Grigsby litigators represent clients across the spectrum of commercial and business disputes, including: business breakups, insurance coverage disputes, antitrust claims, theft of trade secret and non-compete agreements, securities law violations, accounting firm defense and shareholder issues.

Moreover, our litigators’ expertise spans a wide range of industries. We represent national and international businesses and individuals in such sectors as energy, manufacturing, financial services, mining, technology, real estate, health care, retail sales, construction and engineering.

Our group includes litigators with concentrated experience in:

  • Accounting firm defense
  • Banking and financial institution issues
  • Class action defense
  • Commercial torts
  • Construction & real estate disputes
  • Creditors’ rights and bankruptcy matters
  • Environmental litigation & regulatory matters
  • ERISA litigation
  • Insurance coverage litigation
  • Intellectual property litigation
  • Non-compete covenant litigation
  • Product liability suits
  • Securities litigation
  • Wills, trusts & estate litigation

Select Recent Representative Cases

Clients have a right to demand results. Our Litigation Group strives to provide those results – and they have.

  • An antitrust suit involving construction of cogeneration projects
  • A federal securities class action suit involving allegations of improper auditing practices by a company’s independent accountants
  • The breakup of a large family business resulting in a favorable distribution of assets to our clients
  • An International Chamber of Commerce arbitration involving the sale of bauxite by a foreign country
  • A suit concerning a minority shareholder engaged in the valuation of a closely held corporation
  • A fraud action involving an unscrupulous lender
  • A class action suit involving claims made against a bank regarding its credit card charges
  • A trade secret misappropriation action involving the alleged misuse of proprietary software
  • A fraudulent conveyance action in which a corporate executive attempted to hide millions in assets
  • A property damage and business interruption insurance claim resulting from a roof collapse in an underground mine
  • A trademark case involving breach of contract

Litigation

Data table
Anderson, Roberta D. Director 412-297-4794 randerson@cohenlaw.com
Bender, Marshall P. Associate 239-444-1812 mbender@cohenlaw.com
Bohme, Ingrid A. Associate 412-297-4615 ibohme@cohenlaw.com
Cillo, Anthony Director 412-297-4974 acillo@cohenlaw.com
Darragh, Daniel M. Director 412-297-4718 ddarragh@cohenlaw.com
Ejzak, Richard A. Director 412-297-4876 rejzak@cohenlaw.com
Elliott, Larry K. Director 412-297-4962 lelliott@cohenlaw.com
Gdovin, Kelsey J. Associate 412-297-4797 kgdovin@cohenlaw.com
Hajek, Joshua A. Director 239-444-1832 jhajek@cohenlaw.com
Hanson, Morgan J. Director 412-297-4996 mhanson@cohenlaw.com
Harkins, Kevin C. Director 412-297-4938 kharkins@cohenlaw.com
Hill, Lucy E. Associate 412-297-4719 lhill@cohenlaw.com
Iverson, Kelly K. Director 412-297-4838 kiverson@cohenlaw.com
Jacobs, Katie R. Director 412-297-4609 kjacobs@cohenlaw.com
Kelleher Jr., William E. Director 412-297-4703 wkelleher@cohenlaw.com
Korn, Jason Hunter Director 239-390-1914 jkorn@cohenlaw.com
Kowach, Kerrin M. Of Counsel 412-297-4663 kkowach@cohenlaw.com
Lacey, Alex M. Associate 412-297-4642 alacey@cohenlaw.com
Levine, Clifford B. Director 412-297-4998 clevine@cohenlaw.com
Linn, Robert M. Director 412-297-4877 rlinn@cohenlaw.com
Linz, Rebeca F. Associate 239-444-1813 rlinz@cohenlaw.com
Loukonen, Rachael S. Director 239-444-1824 rloukonen@cohenlaw.com
Maloney, PE, Brian P. Director 412-297-4769 bmaloney@cohenlaw.com
Maxson, Thomas D. Director 412-297-4706 tmaxson@cohenlaw.com
May, Mark A. Director 412-297-4699 mmay@cohenlaw.com
McKinley, Christina Manfredi Director 412-297-4772 cmckinley@cohenlaw.com
Mitinger, Alice B. Director 412-297-4652 amitinger@cohenlaw.com
Newman, Eric S. Director 412-297-4730 enewman@cohenlaw.com
Olson, Eric S. Associate 239-444-1848 eolson@cohenlaw.com
Park, Jennifer Sun Director 412-297-4749 jpark@cohenlaw.com
Patter, Julie A. Associate 412-297-4643 jpatter@cohenlaw.com
Price, Kelley Geraghty Director 239-390-1913 kprice@cohenlaw.com
Roman, Andrew M. Director 412-297-4867 aroman@cohenlaw.com
Russey, David F. Director 412-297-4709 drussey@cohenlaw.com
Scheib, Barbara A. Director 412-297-4947 bscheib@cohenlaw.com
Shelton, Robyn A. Associate 412-297-4610 rshelton@cohenlaw.com
Shrayber, Fridrikh V. Director 412-297-4612 fshrayber@cohenlaw.com
Soehl, Thomas H. Associate 412-297-4902 tsoehl@cohenlaw.com
Solis, Andrew I. Director 239-213-4047 asolis@cohenlaw.com
Thistle, Scott R. Director 412-297-4953 sthistle@cohenlaw.com
Tolhurst, Frederick L. Director 412-297-4960 ftolhurst@cohenlaw.com
Tollari, Cezanne S. Associate 412-297-4727 charrer@cohenlaw.com
Vanneman, Julie Director 412-297-4715 jvanneman@cohenlaw.com
Ward, Jeffrey P. Director 412-297-4961 jward@cohenlaw.com
Ward, Helen Sara Director 412-297-4648 hward@cohenlaw.com