Litigation

Business Litigation

Cohen & Grigsby’s practical, business-oriented litigators understand the implications litigation has for your business, both positive and negative. We appreciate the value litigation plays in protecting your business’s market position, contractual interests, and reputation, but we also are sensitive to the costs and distraction of prolonged litigation. Our focus on the long-term business strategies of our clients enables us to strike the appropriate balance between litigation solutions and risk avoidance. We frequently counsel our clients on how best to diminish the potential consequences of litigation by implementing a holistic business strategy that minimizes potential litigation risks. We also understand the difference between claims worth pursuing and disputes that are best met with marketing responses or negotiations, and we advise our clients accordingly.

When the inevitable dispute arises, our deep bench of trial lawyers will work with your business to craft a litigation strategy that is designed to maximize the chances of ultimate success. It is essential that your company secures legal counsel with the experience, grit, and tenacity to prosecute or defend the claims through trial, if necessary. The Business Litigation team at Cohen & Grigsby has a depth of trial experience is well equipped to navigate the often-aggressive legal landscape that is business litigation. Our business litigators embrace a solution-driven approach to litigation and counseling, which enables us to provide well-rounded, business-focused advice, counseling, and dispute resolution services to your business from its inception.

By way of example, we frequently handle the following types of business litigation:

  • Disputes involving interpretations of the Uniform Commercial Code and state versions of the same (applicable to the sale of goods)
  • Contractual Breaches, including cases involving:
    • Claims for indemnification under Purchase Agreements
    • Claims arising under Operating Agreements
    • Claims arising from Buy/Sell Agreements
  • Commercial torts, such as:
    • False Advertising
    • Product Disparagement
    • Unfair Competition
    • Tortious Interference with Contract
  • Products Liability

One of the greatest assets of our business litigators is their ability to quickly and comprehensively learn a client’s industry, market, and strategic objectives in order to devise the ultimate litigation strategy. Our Business Litigation team successfully has prosecuted or defended cases across numerous industries including manufacturing, automobiles and parts, commercial and professional services, technology, oil and gas, energy, government, healthcare, insurance, mining and metals, pharmaceuticals and life sciences, and private clients and individuals.

Litigation

Business Litigation

Data table
Bender, Marshall P. Director 239-444-1812 mbender@cohenlaw.com
Bohme, Ingrid A. Director 412-297-4615 ibohme@cohenlaw.com
Cillo, Anthony Director 412-297-4974 tcillo@cohenlaw.com
Cummings, Myah A. Associate 412-297-4638 mcummings@cohenlaw.com
Darragh, Daniel M. Director 412-297-4718 ddarragh@cohenlaw.com
Ejzak, Richard A. Director 412-297-4876 rejzak@cohenlaw.com
Elliott, Larry K. Director 412-297-4962 lelliott@cohenlaw.com
Gdovin, Kelsey J. Associate 412-297-4797 kgdovin@cohenlaw.com
Hanson, Morgan J. Director 412-297-4996 mhanson@cohenlaw.com
Harkins, Kevin C. Director 412-297-4938 kharkins@cohenlaw.com
Harrer, Cezanne S. Associate 412-297-4727 charrer@cohenlaw.com
Hill, Lucy E. Associate 412-297-4719 lhill@cohenlaw.com
Jacobs, Katie R. Director 412-297-4609 kjacobs@cohenlaw.com
Kelleher Jr., William E. Director 412-297-4703 wkelleher@cohenlaw.com
Korn, Jason Hunter Director 239-390-1914 jkorn@cohenlaw.com
Kowach, Kerrin M. Of Counsel 412-297-4900 kkowach@gmail.com
Lacey, Alex M. Associate 412-297-4642 alacey@cohenlaw.com
Linn, Robert M. Director 412-297-4877 rlinn@cohenlaw.com
Linz, Rebeca F. Associate 239-444-1813 rlinz@cohenlaw.com
Maxson, Thomas D. Director 412-297-4706 tmaxson@cohenlaw.com
May, Mark A. Director 412-297-4699 mmay@cohenlaw.com
McKinley, Christina Manfredi Director 412-297-4772 cmckinley@cohenlaw.com
Mueller, Julie A. Associate 412-297-4641 jmueller@cohenlaw.com
Nelson II, Richard R. General Counsel 412-297-4917 rnelson@cohenlaw.com
Newman, Eric S. Director 412-297-4730 enewman@cohenlaw.com
Olson, Eric S. Associate 239-444-1848 eolson@cohenlaw.com
Patter, Julie A. Associate 412-297-4643 jpatter@cohenlaw.com
Price, Kelley Geraghty Director 239-390-1913 kprice@cohenlaw.com
Roman, Andrew M. Director 412-297-4867 aroman@cohenlaw.com
Russey, David F. Director 412-297-4709 drussey@cohenlaw.com
Semroc, Kyle J. Associate 412-297-4646 ksemroc@cohenlaw.com
Shelton, Robyn A. Associate 412-297-4610 rshelton@cohenlaw.com
Shrayber, Fridrikh V. Director 412-297-4612 fshrayber@cohenlaw.com
Thistle, Scott R. Director 412-297-4953 sthistle@cohenlaw.com
Tolhurst, Frederick L. Director 412-297-4960 ftolhurst@cohenlaw.com
Ward, Jeffrey P. Director 412-297-4961 jward@cohenlaw.com
Ward, Helen Sara Director 412-297-4648 hward@cohenlaw.com
Wissinger, Chad A. Director 412-297-4724 cwissinger@cohenlaw.com